How is the ACA governed?

The ACA is governed by an Executive committee comprising seven past and present members. The Executive has a variety of responsibilities including:
  • Setting ACA objectives
  • Defining policy and developing the strategy of the ACA
  • Interpreting the cricket and corporate culture
  • Interpreting membership opinion
  • Appointing and monitoring the position of CEO
  • Maintaining the financial wellbeing of the ACA
  • Communicating ACA positions to the membership
  • Building relationships with Cricket Australia and State Associations
Who are the ACA Executive members?

ACA Executive members are voted for by the membership and serve a two year term. The current ACA Executive members are:

Greg Dyer

Greg Dyer (President)
Greg Dyer holds degrees in Economics and Law from the University of Sydney and is qualified as a Chartered Accountant, having spent the first part of his working life with KPMG.

He has broad commercial experience in a range of industries, including media, defence, technology and property. He has held management and corporate director positions in Australia, Asia, New Zealand and the USA, having worked for ACP, Murdoch Magazines and, as Chief Financial Officer for APN News & Media Ltd. Before joining Mulpha Australia Limited as a director and CFO in 2005 he was President (chief executive officer) of Tenix (USA). He is currently a non-executive director of FKP Property Group and Kell & Rigby Pty Limited.

Greg is also a former Test cricketer, having played for Australia in the late 1980’s and, notably, as part of Australia’s first World Cup winning team in 1987. He captained NSW and was a member of 3 successful Sheffield Shield winning teams. He spent five years as an honorary director of Athletics Australia.

George Bailey

George Bailey
George Bailey is Tasmania’s captain, steering the team to its Sheffield Shield win last season and the One-Day title the previous year.

George was appointed to the ACA Executive in May 2007.

A member of the Tasmanian squad since 2001-2, George has played more than 200 matches across the first-class, domestic One-Day and Twenty20 forms of the game. He was vice-captain from 2005-6 before taking the reins in 2008-9. He is now acknowledged as one of the best leaders in Australian cricket.

A clean striker of the ball, George has represented Australia A and was also picked up by the Chennai Superkings in the IPL.

He has been part of a Leadership mentoring program organised through the ACA and is part way through a Bachelor of Commerce degree at the University of Tasmania.

Mike Hussey

Michael Hussey
Michael Hussey has been a member of the ACA Executive for more than a decade, having been appointed in September 2001.

Since debuting for Australia in 2004 he has been a fixture in the side across all three forms of the game and one of the team’s most dependable run scorers.

In just 166 days he became the fastest player to score 1000 Test runs and has contributed strongly to the team’s success since his belated debut.

Michael has a Bachelor of Education from Curtin University, with a Chemistry major and Mathematics minor.

He has extensive overseas playing experience in both County cricket (Northamptonshire, Gloucestershire, Durham) and the IPL (Chennai Superkings).

Shane Watson

Shane Watson
Shane Watson was elected to the ACA Executive at the Annual General Meeting in November of 2013.

Following a vote by ACA members, Watson was installed on the Executive, replacing Simon Katich, who stood down after six years of service.

Watson is a prolific member of Australia's International setup, renowned for his big hitting and all-round abilities. Watson now becomes a point of contact for the ACA in all three of Australia's International squads.

Neil Maxwell

Neil Maxwell
Neil Maxwell has been involved in cricket administration for more than 25 years and has held roles with Cricket NSW, the Melbourne Cricket Club, the Marylebone Cricket Club and New Zealand Cricket. He was also the CEO of Kings XI Punjab in the inaugural IPL.

Neil has developed an unprecedented understanding of the administration and commercial aspects of cricket, having worked at State and National levels both in Australia and overseas.

In his current role as Managing Director of Insite Organisation Pty Ltd, Neil has been instrumental in creating a partnership between New Zealand Cricket and USA Cricket to form a corporate entity to control the commercial rights to cricket in the US.

Neil also manages several key cricket sponsorship portfolios, including Vodafone, Sanitarium, Ryobi and Volkswagen.

Neil played 35 first-class and 27 limited overs matches, primarily for NSW and Victoria. He was an aggressive fast-medium bowler, gritty middle order batsman and excellent gully fieldsman.

Marcus North

Marcus North
Marcus North was appointed to the ACA Executive in August this year.

Weight of runs saw the highly respected WA captain selected in the Australian squad for the 2008-09 tour of South Africa. He scored a century on his Test debut at the Wanderers and added another four in the 20 Tests that followed.

A veteran of first-class cricket, Marcus continues to be a strong and respected leader in domestic cricket circles and is a prized scalp amongst opposition players. The left-handed batsman and right-arm off-spinner has extensive experience in England, having represented Derbyshire, Durham, Gloucestshire, Hampshire and Lancashire.

Lisa Sthalekar

Lisa Sthalekar
Lisa Sthalekar became the first female to be appointed to the ACA general Executive in August this year.

The Australian and New South Wales all-rounder has enjoyed an enormously successful on-field career and has worked for Cricket NSW for almost eight years in game development and as a high performance coach. Her current role is Youth Programs Manager – Female.

Lisa has been part of the ACA’s Women’s Executive since its inception in 2009-10 and attended Sydney University, majoring in Religious Studies and Psychology.

The first woman to score 1,000 runs and take 100 wickets in ODIs, Lisa led NSW to five consecutive WNCL titles starting in 2005–06. Lisa has the most wickets in WNCL history and also has a Test century to her name.

Who are the Women’s Executive Committee members?
Following the establishment of the ACA’s WNCL membership in 2007, an Executive was inaugurated to make recommendations on the issues facing female players. The current Women’s Executive Committee members are:

Linsey Da Costa
Jodie Fields
Shelley Nitschke
Clea Smith
Lisa Sthalekar
Jenny Wallace

Who are the ACA delegates?
Each State squad elects a men’s and women’s Delegate and an Alternate Delegate on an annual basis to liaise with the ACA throughout the season. Delegates are responsible for keeping players up to date with ACA issues and communicating important information. They are also responsible for keeping the ACA up to date with player issues, concerns and opinions.

The 2013/14 State Delegates are:

NSW – Moises Henriques / Ben Rohrer
QLD – Chris Hartley / Luke Feldman
SA – Callum Ferguson / Kane Richardson
TAS – Tim Paine / Alex Doolan
VIC – Alex Keath / Clint McKay
WA – Adam Voges / Mitch Marsh

The 2013/14 WNCL Delegates are:

ACT – Kris Britt / Rene Farrell
NSW – Alex Blackwell / Alyssa Healy
QLD – Fran Whittaker / Selena Tainton
SA – Alicia Dean / Angela Moritz
TAS – Linsey Da Costa / Erin Burns
VIC – Jess Cameron / Meg Lanning
WA – Emily Hessell / Melissa Holmes

Powered by Powered by Sportal

© Australian Cricketers’ Association Inc.
Photos courtesy of Getty Images ©