ACA responds to day/night Test announcement

30 Jun 2015

I (224)

The Australian Cricketers' Association has responded to today's announcement by Cricket Australia that the inaugural day/night Test will be held in Adelaide from November 27 to December 1.

The announcement comes at the same time as a new program between Cricket Australia and New Zealand Cricket has been established.

Australia and New Zealand will play out six one-day Chappell-Hadlee Trophy series over the next four years. There will be 18 matches in all, with New Zealand hosting four of the six three-match series.

Responding to today's announcement, ACA Chief Executive Alistair Nicholson said:

"The formal announcement of a day/night Test this summer is supported by a new program agreement between CA and NZC, and this provides significant benefit to players and the game.

"The feedback from players in the Sheffield Shield trials to date have yielded a range of opinions but we've been pleased that their input has helped drive development in the quality of the pink balls and the match conditions generally. Our focus has been on player safety and ensuring an even contest between bat and ball, and the upcoming matches for those in the Australian squad who are yet to play under these conditions will also be important. There is an appetite for the concept and it's crucial that those playing in this format have a strong voice in how it develops."

Commonwealth Bank Test Series v New Zealand

Thurs 5 Nov – Mon 9 Nov Australia v New Zealand Gabba
Fri 13 Nov – Tues 17 Nov Australia v New Zealand WACA
Fri 27 Nov – Tue 1 Dec Australia v New Zealand Adelaide Oval

Commonwealth Bank Test Series v West Indies

Thurs 10 Dec – Mon 14 Dec Australia v West Indies Blundstone Arena
Sat 26 Dec – Wed 30 Dec Australia v West Indies Melbourne Cricket Ground
Sun 3 Jan – Thurs 7 Jan Australia v West Indies Sydney Cricket Ground

The remaining men’s and women’s international and domestic series including the KFC Big Bash League and inaugural Women’s Big Bash League schedules will be announced in due course.