Governance & Executive


How is the ACA governed?

The ACA is governed by an Executive committee comprising seven past and present members. The Executive has a variety of responsibilities including:

  • Setting ACA objectives
  • Defining policy and developing the strategy of the ACA
  • Interpreting the cricket and corporate culture
  • Interpreting membership opinion
  • Appointing and monitoring the position of CEO
  • Maintaining the financial wellbeing of the ACA
  • Communicating ACA positions to the membership
  • Building relationships with Cricket Australia and State Associations

ACA Executive

ACA Executive members are voted for by the membership and serve a two year term. The current ACA Executive members are:

Greg Dyer (President)

Greg Dyer holds degrees in Economics and Law from the University of Sydney and is qualified as a Chartered Accountant, having spent the first part of his working life with KPMG.

He has broad commercial experience in a range of industries, including media, defence, technology and property. He has held management and corporate director positions in Australia, Asia, New Zealand and the USA, having worked for ACP, Murdoch Magazines and, as Chief Financial Officer for APN News & Media Ltd. Before joining Mulpha Australia Limited as a director and CFO in 2005 he was President (chief executive officer) of Tenix (USA). He is currently a non-executive director of FKP Property Group and Kell & Rigby Pty Limited.

Greg is also a former Test cricketer, having played for Australia in the late 1980's and, notably, as part of Australia's first World Cup winning team in 1987. He captained NSW and was a member of three successful Sheffield Shield winning teams. He spent five years as an honorary director of Athletics Australia.

Neil Maxwell

Appointed to the ACA Exective in 2011, Neil has over 25 years of experience in sports administration, exploitation of commercial rights, talent management and sponsorship. 

Currently Neil is CEO of Techfront, where he leads a passionate and committed team that are focused on leading the global sports industry by delivering innovative digital solutions. 

Previously, Neil was approached by the BCCI in 2008 to contract the Australian & New Zealand cricketers for the inaugural IPL season. He also secured long-term perimeter signage rights to 12 Indian cricket grounds which were then repackaged and sold as a viable alternative to sponsorship. 

Appointed CEO of the Kings XI Punjab franchise from its inception, Neil developed both a commercial and cricket strategy for the business. 

Neil has held management positions at New Zealand Cricket, Cricket New South Wales, the Melbourne Cricket Club, undertaken an administrative exchange with the Marylebone CC (Lords) and is currently Chairman of the prestigious Sydney Cricket Club and SCG Cricket. 

Neil represented Australia at U19s level and Australia A, and played for New South Wales and Victoria.

Alyssa Healy

Alyssa Healy was elected to the ACA Execuitve at the 2017 AGM at North Sydney Oval.

Alyssa debuted for New South Wales during the 2007/08 season, before going on to represent her country, which she has done over 100 times, cementing her place behind the stumps for Australia for over seven years now.

She has multiple T20 and ODI World Cups and Ashes victories to go with her long list WNCL and WBBL titles. Alyssa is the current captain of the NSW Breakers.

Shane Watson

Shane Watson was elected to the ACA Executive at the Annual General Meeting in November of 2013.

Following a vote by ACA members, Watson was installed on the Executive, replacing Simon Katich, who stood down after six years of service.

Watson played 59 Tests, 190 ODIs and 58 T20Is for Australia, and is still a dynamic all-rounder on the global domest T20 scene.

Aaron Finch

Aaron Finch was elected to the ACA Executive at the Annual General Meeting in December of 2015, and is Australia's current T20 captain.

Aaron wrote himself a place in the history books when he made a T20 world-record 156 against England in 2013 - then breaking his own record with 172 from 76 against Zimbabwe in 2018.

Aaron also captains the Melbourne Renegades and has lead Victoria on multiple occassions.

Moises Henriques

Moises Henriques was elected to the ACA Executive at the Annual General Meeting in December of 2015.

Moises Henriques is an all-rounder who has captained New South Wales and represented Australia in all formats/ He enjoyed a great start to his Test career against India in Chennai in 2013, scoring 68 and 81 not out.

Moises served as an ACA Player Delegate for eight years prior to joining the Executive.

Janet Torney

Janet Torney was elected to the ACA Executive at the Annual General Meeting in December of 2015.

Janet Torney joins the ACA Executive with a wealth of experience in economics, investment and corporate governance. With an impressive career in a variety of executive management roles, Janet is also the Chair of Whitehelm Capital, an infrastructure investment manager and advisor, and chairs its Advisory Investment Committee.

Janet has recently been appointed to the Board of Club Plus Superannuation and as the first independent director of the Fire Brigades Employees’ Credit Union. Additionally, Janet is non-executive director and Treasurer for Girl Guides Australia. In all her independent director roles Janet has been instrumental in guiding the establishment of a corporate governance framework that clarifies the roles and responsibilities of the Board and management and empowers the senior executive team.

ACA Delegates

Each State squad elects a men's and women's Delegate and an Alternate Delegate on an annual basis to liaise with the ACA throughout the season. Delegates are responsible for keeping players up to date with ACA issues and communicating important information. They are also responsible for keeping the ACA up to date with player issues, concerns and opinions.

State Delegates:
NSW - Kurtis Patterson / Peter Nevill
QLD - James Peirson / Joe Burns
SA - Callum Ferguson / Alex Ross
TAS - Alex Doolan / Jordan Silk
VIC - Peter Handscomb / Scott Boland
WA - Jason Behrendorff / Sam Whiteman

ACT - Sam Bates / Erin Osborne
NSW - Sarah Aley / Nicola Carey 
QLD - Holly Ferling / Jessica Jonassen
SA - Alexandra Price / Bridget Patterson
TAS - Emma Thompson / Sasha Moloney
VIC - Emma Inglis / Sophie Molineux
WA - Megan Banting / Bhavi Devchand