2014-15 fixtures announced

23 Jun 2014

Fixture Pic Web Article (1)

Cricket Australia has today announced the international and domestic schedule of matches for the upcoming summer.

The full men’s and women’s international schedules for 2014-15, along with the fixtures for the Bupa Sheffield Shield and Matador BBQs One-Day Cup (formerly RYOBI One-Day Cup) have all been confirmed, with the full KFC T20 Big Bash League, Women’s National Cricket League and Women’s T20 schedules to be announced in the coming weeks.

To view the fixtures click here

2014-15 Season Highlights include:

•    Commonwealth Bank Test Series against India, starting at the Gabba on 4 December.
•    Two Carlton Mid ODI Series, first against South Africa and then a tri series between India and England, as the Australia men’s team prepares for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015
•    16 home matches for the dual world champion Commonwealth Bank Southern Stars against Pakistan and then the West Indies
•    Day-night Round of Bupa Sheffield Shield with matches in Adelaide, Hobart and Perth from 8-11 November
•    Matador BBQs One-Day Cup to be hosted in Brisbane and Sydney from 4-26 October in the tournament format introduced last season
•    KFC T20 Big Bash League’s fourth season to start Thursday 18 December
•    ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 in February and March in Australia and New Zealand

Including the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015, there will be more than 330 days of international and domestic cricket from late August to late March, providing multiple opportunities for fans across Australia to enjoy the cricket regardless of their location or format preference.

Cricket Australia Chief Executive Officer James Sutherland said:

“Including the men’s Australia A series, which is being played in Brisbane, Townsville and Darwin during July and August, international or Australia A cricket will be played in every state and territory around the country over the next 12 months.

“For the players, this season there is an extra round of our newly-named Matador BBQs One-Day Cup, while there have been additional days added between rounds of the Bupa Sheffield Shield to provide more rest, recovery and preparation time.

“The 2014-15 schedule looks very different to previous summers due in large part to the ICC
Cricket World Cup 2015 that we are co-hosting with New Zealand for the first time in 23 years.

“Australian fans will be able to watch more cricket than ever before, whether it’s our number one-ranked Test and ODI men’s teams, our dual world champion Commonwealth Bank Southern Stars, or any of the state or BBL teams that play in our domestic competitions.

“Last season was a remarkable period for Australian cricket. Led by the record TV ratings for the Nine Network’s world-class coverage of international cricket, we set new benchmarks in almost every area including digital, radio coverage and attendance.

“Tickets to the international summer go on sale in late July and once again the best way for Australian fans to secure their tickets is through the Australian Cricket Family.

“Membership is free and fans who are part of this program are given to priority access to buy tickets before they go on sale to the general public.”


o    The domestic 50-over tournament, now called the Matador BBQs One-Day Cup, will continue its tournament format with an additional round of matches to provide further preparation and selection opportunities ahead of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015
o    Four rounds of the Sheffield Shield will be played before the Test Series
o    Additional days (one or two days) between each Sheffield Shield round in the first half of the season to allow for greater recovery and preparation time for players, especially fast bowlers
o    BBL played across the summer holiday season. Season shortened by a week (43 days compared to 50 days in 2013-14) to provide more concentrated action and entertainment for fans throughout the January school holidays
o    Second half of the Sheffield Shield to follow the BBL. Some matches to be played in regional venues (due to unavailability of SCG, MCG and Adelaide Oval due to the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015) to provide first-class cricket to fans outside metropolitan areas