ACA BBL and WBBL Teams of the Year announced

02 Feb 2017

Sixers Web (1)

The ACA BBL and WBBL Team's of the Years were announced on Thursday, after the players voted who they considered to be the most valuable of both tournaments.

Players were given the opportunity to vote on who they felt had the biggest impact upon the competition, and who they believed should be captain of both teams.

In the BBL, New Zealand veteran Brendan McCullum was voted into the side as Captain, after leading the Brisbane Heat to a semi-final appearance. While in the WBBL, Melbourne Stars and Australian Female Captain Meg Lanning was voted as the players' choice to lead the side.


The Sydney Sixers were the best represented team in the WBBL Team of the Year, after their victory over the Perth Scorchers in last weekend's final. New Australian squad member Ashleigh Gardiner was rewarded for an outstanding year with the bat, alongside her captain Ellyse Perry.

Veteran pace bowler Sarah Aley was voted-in after her 23-wicket season, which culminated with being selected as Player of the Final for the Sixers.

Joining Lanning at the top of the order was the Heat's Beth Mooney, who was also named wicket-keeper of the side; while international's Amy Satterthwaite (Hurricanes) and Katherine Brunt (Scorchers) were selected in the 7 and 8 batting spots in front of Renegades off-spinner Molly Strano.

Regular Australian players Elyse Villani (Scorchers), Alex Blackwell (Thunder) and Kristen Beams (Stars) were also included, with Alyssa Healy (Sixers) included as 12th man.

Scorchers Web (1)


In the BBL, the players opted for a high-power top order, voting in Aaron Finch (Renegades), Ben Dunk (Strikers) and Player of the Tournament Chris Lynn (Heat) as their top-3.

Following McCullum at 4, veterans George Bailey (Hurricanes) and Brad Hodge (Strikers) were included after typically big years, while Mitch Marsh's heroics with bat and ball were also rewarded.

Sean Abbott (Sixers) broke the record for wickets this BBL with 20, and was duly included alongside Mitch Johnson (Scorchers), Ben Laughlin (Strikers) and West Indian Sunil Narine (Renegades).

Sydney Thunder leg-spinner Fawad Ahmed rounded-out the side as 12th man.

ACA Manager Cricket Operations Brendan Drew congratulated all those picked in the side.
"To be selected by your peers as the most valuable in the competition is a terrific honour and achievement," Drew said.

"The players picked in the ACA BBL & WBBL Teams of the Year should be proud of their performances in this tournament, which hopefully paves the way for a strong finish to the reminder of their season, wherever that may be."

The full BBL and WBBL ACA Team of the Year can be found below.


The ACA Team of the Year is voted on via a player survey post-tournament, and includes performances from all regular season fixtures, but not finals. The ACA Team of the Year is awarded for each of the major formats of cricket played domestically each season. 


Ben Dunk (WK)
Aaron Finch
Chris Lynn
Brendan McCullum (c)
George Bailey
Brad Hodge
Mitch Marsh
Sean Abbott
Mitch Johnson
Ben Laughlin
Sunil Narine
12th - Fawad Ahmed 


Meg Lanning (C)
Beth Mooney (WK)
Ashleigh Gardiner
Ellyse Perry
Elyse Villani
Alex Blackwell
Amy Satterthwaite
Katherine Brunt
Molly Strano
Sarah Aley
Kristen Beams
12th - Alyssa Healy