ACA Masters launch Imparja Cup

09 Feb 2015

I (172)

The ACA Masters helped kick-off the 2015 Imparja Cup with a T20 match against the Black Caps on Sunday night.

The Black Caps, a representative side from the 2014 Imparja Cup, mustered up an impressive five-wicket win over the Masters side, which comprised of seven former first-class players.

After winning the toss, the Masters batted first, posting 8-134 on a difficult green Traeger Park deck.

Western Australian D'Arcy Short (33), who was invited to join the Masters for the match, top scored, while Brendan Drew (29) and Lee Carseldine (19) combined in the middle overs to help push the touring side to a defendable total.

Western Australian leg-spinner Yagan Walley did most of the damage with the ball, taking 4-21. WA teammate Dane Ugle also chipped in with 2-17.

In response, the Black Caps got off to a great start when openers Preston White (23) and Rohan Wight (29) combined for 53.

Following the opening pair's departure the Black Caps lost 3-28, but Cameron Trask (54) managed to steady the ship, allowing Tasmanian captain Callan Morse (7no) to steer his side home with six balls in hand.
Ben Johnson (2-12) and Alice Springs local Greg Louis (2-17) were the pick of the Masters bowling attack.

Click here for the complete scorecard.

The Masters also spent some time with each of the Imparja Cup teams, offering advice to coaches and players to assist in their development to help advocate Indigenous cricket in Australia.

ACA Masters team

Lee Carseldine
Joe Dawes
Brendan Drew
Phil Emery
Brett Geeves
Ben Johnson
Graeme Vimpani