ACA WNCL Team of the Year announced


Strano Web

The ACA WNCL Team of the Year has been announced today, with Australian Female Captain Meg Lanning being chosen to lead the side once again.

Lanning received a high percentage of the vote, following an incredible four game stint in Australia's pinnacle one-day competition where she posted 359 runs at an astonishing average of 119.67.

Lanning posted a record WNCL score of 190 against Tasmania on October 29, and was voted captain ahead of Southern Stars teammate Alex Blackwell.

Lanning's VicSpirit teammate, off-spinner Molly Strano, was selected into the ACA Team of the Year after 13 wickets but lamented Victoria's inconsistency which ultimately cost them a place in the final.

"To be voted into the ACA WNCL Team of the Year is a huge honour," Strano said.

"To receive any award is always a nice feeling, but to be picked in a team voted on by your peers is especially gratifying.

"Obviously, it is a bitter sweet feeling, we weren't good enough this year to challenge for the final, which is disappointing.

"However, Victoria has a really strong group of youth and experience that should be strong enough to continue to challenge for WNCL titles.

"I am really focussed now on having a good WBBL for the Renegades, where we should be really competitive.

The squad was voted on by all contracted female players, who each selected their opening batsman, middle order batsman and bowlers.

The team included Queensland opening batsman Beth Mooney after 350 runs at 54, and Tasmanian wicket-keeper Georgia Redmayne after her breakout season for the Roar.

Captain and Vice-Captain's, Lanning and Blackwell, were selected at 3 and 4 after typically dominant seasons for Victoria and New South Wales respectively.

The team included some international flavour this year, with former England captain Charlotte Edwards selected into the number five slot after 312 runs with a highest score of 112.

Tahlia McGrath's tournament would be later recognized with her Southern Stars debut in New Zealand, and was duly picked at number six.

Experienced off-spinning all-rounder duo Erin Osborne and Strano were picked after exceptional WNCL's, with Sarah Aley, Nicole Goodwin and Amanda Wellington being picked as the side's formidable bowling attack.

Veteran Spirit opening batsman Sarah Elliot was selected 12th man, after averaging 50 throughout the campaign.

ACA Manager Female Cricket Operations Jodie Fields congratulated all those picked in the side.

"To be selected by your peers as the most valuable in the competition is a terrific honour and achievement," Fields said.

"The WNCL remains Australian cricket's most important female competition, and provides the best opportunity for players to develop their game for the next level.

"The players picked in the ACA WNCL Team of the Year should be proud of the start they have made to the domestic season, and hopefully their success paves the way for further performances throughout the WBBL."


The ACA WNCL Team of the Year  

Beth Mooney
Georgia Redmayne
Meg Lanning - Captain
Alex Blackwell
Charlotte Edwards
Taliah McGrath
Erin Osborne
Molly Strano
Sarah Aley
Nicole Goodwin
Amanda Wellington

12th - Sarah Elliot