Australia cruise to 93-run win in first ODI

08 Oct 2014

I (66)

Australia cruised to a 93-run win over Pakistan in the first of a three ODI Series in Sharjah on Tuesday, as Steve Smith collected his maiden ODI century.

George Bailey won the toss and elected to bat with Australia posting a respectable 255 in their innings.

The tourists didn’t have the ideal start losing Aaron Finch’s wicket with the first ball of the match, but David Warner and Steve Smith combined for a 86-run partnership to steady the innings before Warner was dismissed for 43.

Smith dug in and went on to post his ton before he was dismissed for 101 by Shahid Afridi (3-46).

In response, Pakistan’s batting order was never really able to get going with Nathan Lyon (2-33) and Glenn Maxwell (2-29) capitalising on a turning wicket. Mitchell Johnson’s pace was again destructive and he was able to pick up three wickets in his seven overs.

David Warner was solid in the field taking two superb catches to dismiss Pakistani Captain Misbah-ul-Haq (0) and Fawad Alam (7) before finishing the match off for the Aussies with a run out in the 37th over.

Click here for the complete scorecard.