Australia seal ODI Series

10 Oct 2014

I (76)

Mitchell Johnson starred, as Australia defeated Pakistan by five wickets with to clinch the ODI Series in Dubai on Friday.

Pakistan won the toss and opted to bat and made a solid start posting a 126-run opening partnership between Ahmed Shehzad (61) and Sarfraz Ahmed (65).

Australia fought back hard and the Pakistan batting order fell away losing their remaining ten wickets for just 89 runs, leaving Australia 215 to chase.

Johnson claimed three scalps with the other wickets shared evenly between Kane Richardson (1-43), Xavier Doherty (1-44), James Faulkner (1-27) and Nathan Lyon (1-40).

In response, Australia lost the early wickets of Aaron Finch (14) and Steve Smith (12). George Bailey steadied the Australian innings with a gritty 28 (68b) combining with Glenn Maxwell who played with his usual flair before being dismissed by Zulfiqar Babar for 76.

James Faulkner (26*) and Brad Haddin (17*) sealed the Australian series victory bringing up the winning runs in the 44th over.