BBL08 set to launch

18 Dec 2018

 BBL Web Article

BBL08 begins on Wednesday in Brisbane with the defending champions Adelaide Strikers taking on the Brisbane Heat.

It is the first season with two new broadcasters, with Fox Cricket broadcasting every game, and Channel 7 broadcasting 43 matches. The competition has now expanded with teams now playing in 14 matches each, up from ten in BBL08 .

This continues the Big Bash period, after the WBBL launched on December 1st and with the two Sydney teams positioning themselves as the ones to beat so far.

The BBL tournament will be taken to more venues than ever before, with matches in Canberra, Gold Coast, Launceston, Geelong, Moe and Alice Springs in 2018-19.

General Manager Cricket Operations & Player Relations, Brendan Drew, said the players were excited to begin the BBL.

“Players have done a wonderful job at engaging with the fans and broadcasters to grow the Big Bash to the drawcard it is today,” Drew said.

“It will be exciting to see how this year’s BBL unfolds for the fans, given the fantastic way the WBBL has captivated fans so far.

“This Test summer has already provided two close matches, so hopefully the BBL can build on this momentum, and provide many similarly exciting contests.”

The BBL will once again include Zaidee’s Rainbow Round (January 11-18) where players will don rainbow grips and shoelaces to raise awareness for Organ and Tissue Donation.

The BBL fixtures can be found here.

The BBL squads can be found here.