Bushrangers name 15-man Matador Cup squad

01 Oct 2014

I (52)

The Commonwealth Bank Bushrangers have announced a 15-man squad for the Matador One-Day Cup which begins in Brisbane on Saturday.

Commonwealth Bank Bushrangers squad:
Fawad Ahmed
Scott Boland
Dan Christian
Jake Haberfield
Peter Handscomb
John Holland
David Hussey
Alex Keath
Clint McKay
Rob Quiney
Ryan Sidebottom
Marcus Stoinis
Chris Tremain
Matthew Wade (c)
Cameron White

Matthew Wade will captain the side that features the former New South Wales paceman Chris Tremain, who has impressed selectors since making the move south during the off-season.

The 23-year-old paceman, who played six first-class matches and two one-dayers for NSW after debuting in 2012, has been a standout in the Bushrangers' pre-season tour of Queensland and intra-squad matches, according to Victorian Chairman of Selectors Andrew Lynch.

"He bowled very well up north in our practice matches against Tasmania," Lynch said.
"He has trained well and deserves his opportunity."

Ryan Sidebottom and Jake Haberfield have also been named to make their Bushrangers one-day debut.

"Sidebottom has had a really good pre-season and put on some strength which has him the fittest he has ever been," Lynch said.

"Haberfield has a very good record at one-day level and has really earned his position after an impressive Premier season last year.

If selected, David Hussey will play his 100th one-day match for Victoria against Queensland on Saturday.

4 October – QLD v VIC (Gabba)
6 October – SA v VIC (GABBA)
8 October – TAS v VIC (AB Field)
12 October – NSW v VIC (North Sydney Oval)
14 October – QLD v VIC (North Sydney Oval)
17 October – NSW v VIC (Drummoyne Oval)
19 October – WA v VIC (Drummoyne Oval)
24 October – Preliminary Final (Drummoyne Oval)
26 October – Grand Final (SCG)

Saturday and Wednesday's matches will not be broadcast on television, though the remainder of the Bushrangers' fixtures will be live on GEM.