Chris Rogers joins ACA Masters Sun Country on the Murray tour

30 Oct 2015

I (251)

Recently retired Australia Test opener Chris Rogers will play in Yarrawonga as part of the Australian Cricketers’ Association (ACA) Masters Tour.

The tour, which runs from 21-23 November, includes an action packed Twenty20 game on Sunday 22 November at Stan Hargreaves Oval from 1pm. Rogers will join the ACA Masters team that takes on an Invitational XI from the Moira Shire.

Entry is just $5 for adults, with children under 16 free.

A prolific first-class run scorer for 15 years, Rogers made a return to Test cricket during the 2013-14 Ashes whitewash after playing just the sole Test in 2008 against India in Perth. From there his next 24 Tests returned 2015 runs at an average 42.87, including five centuries – impressive numbers for a man who played his second Test at the age of 36.

Rogers closed out his Test career in style, equalling the Test record for the most-ever consecutive half centuries (seven), while collecting 480 runs at an average of 60.00 in the 2015 Ashes series.

The Moira Shire Invitational XI team

Matt Knight (Captain) (Yarrawonga Mulwala)
Ash Quinn (Nathalia)
Luke Quinn (Nathalia)
Luke Carter (Nathalia)
Bailey Bell (Nathalia)
Mitch Richmann (Cobram-Yarroweyah)
Brock McCabe (Yarrawonga Mulwala)
Reid Clarke (Yarrawonga Mulwala)
Pat Martin (Yarrawonga Mulwala)
Shane Healy (Katunga)
Jim Irvine (Yarrawonga Mulwala)
Matt Casey (Yarrawonga Mulwala)
Kieran Andrew (Cobram-Yarroweyah)

The tour will also include in2CRICKET coaching clinics for primary school children and a sportsman’s function at Yarrawonga Mulwala Cricket Club on the Saturday night before the match.

Details for the function are:

Sportsman’s Night
Yarrawonga Mulwala Cricket Club
Saturday 21st November at 7pm
Tickets $30
SMS 0427 011 900 for tickets

The Tour is supported by the Moira Shire and Sun Country on the Murray.

The Masters program has been developed by the ACA, the official representative body of past and present players. It has been primarily funded by the current first-class and Australian players as part of their commitment to developing the game in regional Australia and engaging with local communities.

The ACA Masters team

Terry Alderman (Australia & Western Australia)
Andy Bichel (Australia & Queensland)
Phil Emery (Australia & New South Wales)
Joe Dawes (Queensland)
Brett Geeves (Australia & Tasmania)
Wayne Holdsworth (Australia & New South Wales)
Ben Johnson (South Australia)
Greg Matthews (Australia & New South Wales)
Ken Healy (Queensland)
Peter Sleep (Australia & South Australia)
Lee Carseldine (Queensland)
Greg Rowell (New South Wales, Queensland & Tasmania)

This tour is taking place after it was postponed last year, following the passing of Phillip Hughes.