Doherty to lead Tigers into Matador Cup

04 Oct 2014

I (61)

Xavier Doherty will lead a 13-man Tasmanian squad into the Matador Cup, as they kick-off their campaign against Victoria on Wednesday.

Michael Hill, the former Victorian Bushranger, and Dominic Michael, the former Queensland Bull, are the two new additions to the squad.

Tasmania Tigers Matador Cup squad
Xavier Doherty (c)
Jordan Silk (vc)
Ben Dunk
Ed Cowan
Andrew Fekete
Evan Gulbis
Michael Hill
Hamish Kingston
Dominic Michael
Tim Paine
Sam Rainbird
Clive Rose
Jon Wells

After spending six years with Victoria, Hill had made the move down south as he looks to cement himself as a regular in the Tasmanian side.

The 26-year-old posted an unbeaten 34 and 26 during Tasmania's two matches against Scotland this week and will be looking to impress if given the opportunity against his old state next week.

Following his debut, Michael starred for One-Day champions Queensland during the 2012-13 tournament, taking his one-day tally to an impressive 263 runs at an average of 65.75.

He returns to Australia after joining the Hurricanes for their Champions League campaign in India.

The Tigers will play-out their first two fixtures in Queensland, before heading to New South Wales for the remainer of the tournament.

The Tigers finished last year's tournament with a 3-3 record, missing out on a finals berth.

Tasmanian Tigers Matador Cup Fixture
8 October – TAS v VIC (AB Field)
11 October – TAS v WA (Gabba)
13 October – TAS v WA (North Sydney)
15 October – TAS v SA (Bankstown Oval)
18 October – TAS v QLD (North Sydney Oval)
20 October – TAS v NSW (Drummoyne Oval)
22 October – TAS v SA (North Sydney Oval)
24 October – Preliminary Final (Drummoyne Oval)
26 October – Grand Final (SCG)