Duffin voted by players as captain of WBBL All*Star Team

19 Dec 2019

Duffin Article

The votes are in and the players have voted Jess Duffin as captain of the 2019 WBBL All*Star Team. 

At the conclusion of the WBBL earlier this month, players were given the opportunity to vote on who they felt had the biggest impact upon the competition, and who they believed should be captain. 

Duffin was appointed captain of the Melbourne Renegades for the first time this season. The 30-year-old, with 117 Australian caps to her name, prior to stepping away from Australia duties following the 2015-16 season, was in career best form throughout the fifth edition of the WBBL, amassing more than 500 runs at 68.00.
“It’s really special to be recognised by your peers and voted into an ACA All*Star Team. But also to be voted in as captain really means a lot to me. Personally, for me, the player-voted awards are always the ones that mean the most,” Duffin said.
“As someone who has stepped out and now come back to the game, it’s great to see the WBBL and women’s cricket flourishing - not only with support off the field, but also with these world class players taking the game forward on the field.
“The WBBL continues to grow from strength-to-strength every year and the stand-alone season was a fantastic step forward for women’s cricket. The support and crowds were fantastic and I hope that it’s something we can carry into the future. “
Player of the tournament Sophie Devine was voted in at the top of the order alongside grand final hero Beth Mooney. The pair struck over 700 runs each this season with Devine also taking 19 wickets. Mooney was also elected as ‘keeper.
Aussie skipper Meg Lanning lived up to her tag as the ‘Megastar’ with another fantastic season, her second in Perth. She whacked over 500 runs including an incredible century and was just named captain of the ICC’s T20I Team of the Year.
Despite only playing nine games, Ellyse Perry showed her value as she does time and time again, polling well to secure a spot in the middle of the order. Perry, was this week announced as the ICC’s Women’s Cricketer of the Year and occupied spots in both of the ODI and T20I Teams of the Year.
Victorious Brisbane Heat all-rounder Jess Jonassen slots in at number six with 419 runs and 21 wickets for the team in teal. She has been an integral member of Brisbane’s back-to-back championship winning side, alongside teammate Sammy-Jo Johnson who was also voted into the team.
English import Dani Wyatt returned to Australia with one of her best campaigns. The veteran of over 150 international games surpassed 50 four times on the way to scoring 468 runs for the Renegades. Wyatt, comes in ahead of her Renegades teammate Molly Strano, after the spinner added 24 wickets to her tally this season. Strano completed the tournament as leading wicket taker and is also the competition’s all-time leading wicket-taker with 96, just four shy of her century.
Speedsters Belinda Vakarewa and Megan Schutt close out the team. Vakarewa’s move to Hobart paid dividends as she claimed 20 wickets at a return of 15.80 for the Hurricanes. Schutt, who was named in the ICC’s T20I and ODI Teams of the Year, received strong votes from her peers after taking 16 wickets at five runs an over.
2019 WBBL ACA All*Star Team

  1. Sophie Devine (AS)  769 runs | ave 76.90 | 50s: 9 | 19 wickets | BB 3/13
  2. Beth Mooney (BH) (WK) – 743 runs | ave 74.30 | 50s: 9 | 6 catches | 3 stumpings
  3. Meg Lanning (PS) – 531 runs | ave 40.84 | 100s: 1 | 50s: 4
  4. Jess Duffin (MR) (C) - 544 runs | ave 68.00 | 50s: 5
  5. Ellyse Perry (SS) – 464 runs | ave 93.80 |50s: 4 | 4 wickets | econ 5.80
  6. Jess Jonassen (BH) – 419 runs | ave 38.09 | 50s: 2 | 21 wickets | econ 6.83 | 4fas: 3
  7. Danielle Wyatt (MR) – 468 runs | ave 39.00 | 50s: 4 | 4 wickets | econ 6.94 | BB 2/26
  8. Sammy-Jo Johnson (BH) - 18 wickets | econ 6.69 | BB 2/16
  9. Molly Strano (MR) – 24 wickets | ave 16.91 | BB 4/28
  10. Belinda Vakarewa (HH) – 20 wickets | ave 15.80 | BB 4/19
  11. Megan Schutt (AS) – 16 wickets | econ 5.60 | BB 2/12
  12. Marizanne Kapp (MS) – 15 wickets | econ 6.01 | BB 3/16 | 232 runs | ave 33.14 | 50s: 2