ICC appoints N Srinivasan

26 Jun 2014

Srini Web Article

Narayanaswami Srinivasan was confirmed as the Chairman of the International Cricket Council (ICC) after the 52-member Full Council approved amendments to the ICC’s Memorandum and Articles of Association at the Annual Conference in Melbourne today.

Mr Srinivasan was nominated by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) for the top position and will assume charge following the conclusion of the ICC Annual Conference week.

Mr Srinivasan is among 13 people named in a report into corruption allegations in the Indian Premier League. He has been suspended by the Indian Supreme Court as that country's cricket chief.

"I believe that some of the criticism is unfair to me and it's not well-founded," Srinivasan told reporters at the MCG.

"One must judge me by results. "I have not done anything wrong for which I should feel hesitant to take this position. Most of the criticism is not well-founded, as time will tell."

The approval of the constitutional changes, which flowed from an ICC Board resolution taken in Singapore on 8 February and finalised on 10 April, also means that a new Executive Committee was formed, which will report to the ICC Board.

The initial Chair of the Executive Committee will be Cricket Australia’s Chairman, Wally Edwards, while the Chair of the ICC’s Finance and Commercial Affairs Committee (F&CA) will continue to be England and Wales Cricket Board’s Chairman, Giles Clarke.

Mr Srinivasan said:

“It is an honour to be confirmed as the Chairman of the International Cricket Council,” said Mr Srinivasan, adding: “I will leave no stone unturned in trying to strengthen the pillars and foundations of our sport, both on and off the field. I want to ensure that cricket retains and grows its popularity, and that the ICC plays a leading role in this global growth.

“I want to see more strong teams in international cricket. Naturally, there will be more support to those who first show they can help themselves."

The Annual Conference also saw Mr Mustafa Kamal become the 11th President of the ICC.