Lanning, Perry named amongst WT20's 'best'

08 Apr 2014


Meg Lanning and Ellyse Perry have been named in the ICC World Twenty20 Bangladesh 2014 women’s Team of the Tournament.

England’s Charlotte Edwards named as captain for the second consecutive time.
Commenting on the side, chairman of the independent jury and member of the Emirates Elite Panel of ICC Match Referees, David Boon, said: “This year’s tournament again demonstrated the incredible depth of talent across women’s cricket. Selecting one team of 11 players was a tough task as we saw standout performances from many players.

“The selection criteria are the performances of players in the conditions here in Bangladesh during the ICC World Twenty20 2014, so some of the world’s best players had to be left out.

“The side reflects the effectiveness of bowlers throughout the tournament, with four specialist bowlers, including Bangladesh spinner Salma Khatun, as well as four all-rounders and three specialist batters who have performed consistently throughout the tournament.”

Meanwhile, Lanning has retained her No.1 batting ranking in the T20 format.

ICC World Twenty20 Bangladesh 2014 women’s Team of the Tournament:

Suzie Bates (New Zealand) – 228 runs, five wickets
Charlotte Edwards (England - captain) – 200 runs
Meg Lanning (Australia) – 257 runs
Sarah Taylor (England - wicketkeeper) – 150 runs, six dismissals
Stafanie Taylor (West Indies) – 153 runs, one wicket
Deandra Dottin (West Indies) – 147 runs, four wickets
Ellyse Perry (Australia) –106 runs, eight wickets
Natalie Sciver (England) – 10 wickets
Salma Khatun (Bangladesh) – eight wickets
Poonam Yadav (India) – eight wickets
Anya Shrubsole (England) – 12 wickets

12th Player: Shabnim Ismail (South Africa) – seven wickets