MCG draw hands Australia Border-Gavaskar Trophy

31 Dec 2014

I (140)

Australia have won back the Border-Gavaskar Trophy, following an agonising draw with India at the MCG.

The Aussies narrowly missed out on a 3-0 series lead, falling four wickets short of victory on a frustrating final day.

Australia continued batting on day five, adding 57 to their overnight lead.

Shaun Marsh was approaching a first Test century on home soil before a risky single led to a direct hit from Virat Kholi which saw him fall inches short of the milestone.

One over later stand-in skipper Steve Smith called his batsmen in at 9-318, forcing the lunch break.

Australia came out firing with the ball, forcing a top-order collapse to have a nervous India at 3-19 in the ninth over.

Kholi (54) and Ajinkya Rahane (48) once again steadied the Indian ship and get them through to Tea just three wickets down.

Kholi put Australia back in the game when he fell victim to Ryan Harris (2-30) with the first ball after the break.

Cheteshwar Pujara (21) and Rahane both also fell in the final session but gutsy batting peroformances from the retiiring MS Dhoni (24no) and Ravichandran Ashwin (8no) got India over the line for a well-fought draw.

Click here for the fifth day highlights.

Click here for the complete scorecard.