National Indigenous Development Squad Announced

12 Aug 2014

I (13)

The country's most talented Indigenous cricketers have been selected in the preliminary 2014-15 National Indigenous Development Squad, which will tour Darwin for a Top End Cricket Carnival this September.

Identified by Cricket Australia's National Talent Manager Greg Chappell and National Indigenous Development Squad Head Coach Anthony Judd, the team will play a combination of 50-over and Twenty20 matches against sides representing ICC East Asia Pacific, Papua New Guinea and the Northern Territory from 13 - 19 September in Darwin.

The matches will take place at Northline Oval in Palmerston, Marrara Cricket Ground and the Gardens Oval.

Chappell said the players were selected based on their performances at the national all-Indigenous tournament, the Imparja Cup, as well as club cricket and state competitions last summer.
"There is a some significant talent within this squad and our aim is to really foster that and help take it to the next level. These players have been selected based on their potential to develop into elite cricketers. We hope the experience of playing in this tournament will help expose each player to the professionalism associated with high-level competition and what it takes to succeed at the top," Chappell said.

"Opportunities like the Top End Cricket Carnival build on the foundations set by our participation programs which aim to create a pathway for Indigenous Australians to play the game with an ultimate aim of one day earning a Baggy Green cap."

Captain of the National Indigenous Development Squad Ben Abbatangelo from Victoria said:

"The carnival provides another chance to help us develop as cricketers and advance our playing careers. I saw a lot of talent at the Imparja Cup this year and I know it will only continue to grow and improve.

"The Imparja Cup and opportunities to play against international sides are important to this growth and seeing Indigenous Australians play for our country."

The preliminary squad announcement coincides with Australian cricket's annual participation campaign, PlayCricket, an online information resource which is designed to encourage all Australians to get involved, no matter who they are, where they come from or whether they've ever picked up a bat or ball.

At, people can find out all they need to know about how to get involved with cricket. From junior participation, to veterans leagues, to new short format options, the website will put people in touch with clubs and indoor cricket centres that offer the type of cricket they're looking for - relevant to their location.

"Hopefully PlayCricket will inspire more Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander boys and girls to learn about the game and get involved with their local club or centre," Abbatangelo said.

Preliminary 2014-15 National Indigenous Development Squad

Ben Abbatangelo (c) (VIC)
Ayden McGregor-Baptista SA
Tyrell Sinclair SA
Brandon King NT
Damon Egan (VIC)
Jonte Pattison NSW
Zac Chapman TAS
Luke Lavender SA
Bradley Smith TAS
Charlie Holmes SA
Lain Beckett NSW
Josh Eaton VIC
Bevan Bennell WA
Ryan Lees TAS
Alistair Bivens WA
Michael Bailey WA
Adam McDermott QLD
Mark Thompson QLD
Ben Mitchell NSW
Preston White QLD
D'arcy Short WA
Cameron Trask QLD
Nathan Price NSW
Josh Lalor NSW

Head Coach: Anthony Judd

Assistant Coach: Jeff Cook


Top End Cricket Carnival Fixture

Sun 14 Sept

50 overs
Papua New Guinea v National Indigenous Squad (11.00am)
Gardens Oval

50 overs
ICC East Asia Pacific v NT Strike (11.00am)
Northline Oval

Mon 15 Sept

ICC East Asia Pacific v NT Strike (10.00am)
Marrara Cricket Ground 1

NT Strike v National Indigenous Squad (10.00am)
Marrara Cricket Ground 2

Papua New Guinea v ICC East Asia Pacific (2.00pm)
Marrara Cricket Ground 1

Papua New Guinea v National Indigenous Squad (2.00pm)
Marrara Cricket Ground 2

Wed, 17 Sept

50 overs
ICC East Asia Pacific v National Indigenous Squad (11.00am)
Marrara Cricket Ground 2

Thurs, 18 Sept

50 overs
ICC East Asia Pacific v National Indigenous Squad (11.00am)
Northline Oval

Fri 19 Sept

ICC East Asia Pacific v National Indigenous Squad (11.00am)
Northline Oval