Players JLT Cup Team of the Year announced

15 Oct 2018

Handscomb WEB

The 2018-19 ACA JLT Cup All*Star Team of the Year has been announced today, after the players voted on who they considered to be the most valuable from Australia's one-day domestic competition.

The team was voted on by the wider playing group, and represents who the players believed to have had the biggest impact on the tournament.

This season, votes were inclusive of the entire of the tournament including finals, following a change to the format this season

Winning Victorian Captain Peter Handscomb was the players’ choice as both Captain and Wicketkeeper, after 351 runs and five catches behind the stumps. 

Ben McDermott’s dominant campaign earnt him an opening spot in the team, joined by Queenslander Sam Heazlett. ​

D’Arcy Short compiled 404 runs in just five matches, including a memorable 257 (the highest ever Australian domestic one-day score) against Queensland, sees him in the number three position; while the tournaments leading run scorer, Chris Lynn (452 runs) slotted in front of Handscomb at number five. 

Veteran South Australian Callum Ferguson (328 runs) was recognised for his outstanding tournament, in front of newcomer Daniel Sams, who was voted in at number seven after a campaign that yielded nine wickets and 152 runs.

Mark Steketee (14 wickets @ 30.29), Gurinder Sandhu (18 wickets @16.67) and Andrew Tye (18 wickets @ 16.17) were selected as the three frontline fast bowlers in the side.

Adam Zampa was overwhelmingly favoured as the most valuable spinner, while perennial inclusion Cameron White was included as 12th Man, after another strong season with 332 runs at 47. ​

ACA General Manger Cricket Operations and Player Relations Brendan Drew congratulated all those picked in the side.​

"To be selected by your peers as the most valuable in the competition is a terrific honour and achievement," Drew said.

"The players picked in the ACA JLT Cup Team of the Year should be proud of the start they have made to the domestic season, hopefully their success paves the way for further strong performances throughout the year.

2018-19 JLT Cup All*Star Team of the Year 
Ben McDermott (7 matches, 427 runs @ 71.17, HS 117)
Sam Heazlett (7 matches, 380 runs @ 54.29, HS 107)
D'Arcy Short (5 matches, 404 runs @ 80.8, HS 257, 3 wickets @ 40 BB 2-21)
Chris Lynn (7matches, 452 runs @ 75.33, HS 135)
Peter Handscomb (8 matches, 5 WK catches, 361 runs @ 51.57, HS 89) (C) (WK)
Callum Ferguson (6 matches, 328 runs @ 54.67, HS 133)
Daniel Sams (6 matches, 152 runs @ 38 HS 62, 9 wickets @ 22.44 BB 3-46)
Mark Steketee (7 matches, 14 wickets @ 30.29, BB 4-35, RPO 6.39)
Gurinder Sandhu (6 matches, 18 wkts @ 16.67, BB 7-56, RPO 5.31)
Adam Zampa (6 matches, 12 wickets @ 25.42, BB 3-37, RPO 5.08) 
Andrew Tye (6 matches, 18 wickets @ 16.17, BB 6-46, RPO 5.34)
12th - Cameron White (7 matches, 332 runs @ 47.43, HS 123)