Players name Wade as Captain in ACA Team of the Year

29 Mar 2019

Wade Article

Matthew Wade has been named Captain of the player-voted ACA All*Star Sheffield Shield Team of the Year.​

Taking on the captaincy of Tasmania part-way through the season, Wade put together his most successful Sheffield Shield, posting an incredible 1021 runs at an average of 60.05.

Click here to see all the 2018-19 ACA All*Star Teams

“To be nominated by your peers as Captain of this team is a huge honour,” Wade said. ​

“Personally, I have enjoyed leading Tasmania for the first time this season, and it's always nice to score some runs of your own."

After finishing atop the Sheffield Shield table, Victoria had five nominees for the team including Marcus Harris, who also surpassed 1000 runs. 

Will Pucovski and Nic Maddinson were rewarded for stellar seasons, despite each playing limited games, while Scott Boland (45 wickets) and Jon Holland (26 wickets) were also included.​

Fellow Sheffield Shield finalist New South Wales, had two entrants, with opening batter Daniel Hughes partnering Harris at the top of the order.

Trent Copeland earned a fast bowling slot, after a 44-wicket season helped propel New South Wales to second on the Shield table. 

Michael Neser’s 481 runs and 33 wickets had him selected at number seven, with fellow Queenslander Mark Steketee rewarded for a consistent season as the 12th.​

ACA Captain’s MVP winner Jackson Bird was selected as one of the four fast bowlers, after topping the Sheffield Shield wickets tally with 50. After another consistent year at the top of the Tasmanian order, Alex Doolan was picked at number five in the batting order.​

The ACA All*Star Sheffield Shield Team of the Year

Marcus Harris (VIC)

Daniel Hughes (NSW)

Will Pucovski (VIC)

Nic Maddinson (VIC)

Alex Doolan (TAS)

Matthew Wade (TAS) (WK & C)

Michael Neser (QLD)

Trent Copeland (NSW)

Jackson Bird (TAS)

Scott Boland (VIC)

Jon Holland (VIC)

12th. Mark Steketee (QLD)