Redbacks, Warriors and Tigers finalise contract lists

24 Apr 2014


South Australia, Western Australia and Tasmania have finalised their contract lists for the 2014-15 season this week.

The move home of Mark Cosgrove from the Tigers is the major addition to the Redback’s line-up, and helps off-set the departure of former skipper Michael Klinger to the West.

The Redbacks, who finished third in the Sheffield Shield competition, will have a powerful batting group at full strength, with Cosgrove joining Phil Hughes, Callum Ferguson, Tom Cooper, Andrew McDonald and Travis Head.

The Redbacks have also named five rookies for 2014-15. Jake Lehmann, son of West End Redbacks champion and former captain Darren, has been offered his first rookie contract following impressive performances in the Futures League. He is joined by Alex Gregory and Tom Andrews, who were both members of the Australian U19 team last year.

Johan Botha
Tom Cooper
Mark Cosgrove
Callum Ferguson
Travis Head
Phil Hughes (Cricket Australia contract)
Trent Lawford
Tim Ludeman
Andrew McDonald
Joe Mennie
Gary Putland
Sam Raphael
Kane Richardson
Chadd Sayers
Kelvin Smith (promoted from Rookie list)
Dan Worrall
Adam Zampa
Tom Andrews
Alex Gregory
Jake Lehmann
Alex Ross
Nick Winter
IN: Mark Cosgrove (Tas), Jake Lehmann, Tom Andrews
OUT: Michael Klinger (WA), Alex Carey, Peter George, Sam Miller, Elliot Opie (all delisted)

The Tasmanian Tigers have finalised their 2014-15 squad with the addition of former Victorian batsman Michael Hill and Queenslander Dominic Michael.

The departure of Mark Cosgrove (South Australia) opened the door for Michael and Hill, who is a former Australian U/19 captain. He was a member of the Bushrangers squad for many years, making his one-day debut in 2008 and his first-class debut in 2010.

Injury and lack of opportunity in the Victorian side has kept Hill on the sidelines over the past few seasons but at just 25, he still has time on his side.
Dominic Michael has played a handful of games for the Bulls and been a dominant batsman at Club level in recent seasons.

With the experienced Ed Cowan, Ben Hilfenhaus and Xavier Doherty coming off Cricket Australia contracts, there was pressure on the Tigers’ squad to absorb the trio’s return.

Paceman Adam Maher, a member of the Tigers’ winning Sheffield Shield side in 2010-11 has not been offered a contract for next season, with Harry Allanby, Aiden Blizzard, Steve Cazzulino and Ben Laughlin also delisted.

George Bailey (CA)
Jackson Bird
Luke Butterworth
Ed Cowan
Xavier Doherty
Alex Doolan
Ben Dunk
James Faulkner (CA)
Andrew Fekete
Evan Gulbis
Ben Hilfenhaus
Michael Hill
Hamish Kingston
Dominic Michael
Tim Paine
Sam Rainbird
Clive Rose
Jordan Silk
Timm van der Gugten
Jon Wells
Gabe Bell
Ryan Lees
Beau Webster
Sean Willis
IN: Michael Hill (Victoria), Dominic Michael (Queensland), Hamish Kingston, Sam Rainbird (contract upgrade)
OUT: Mark Cosgrove (South Australia), Harry Allanby, Aiden Blizzard, Steve Cazzulino, Ben Laughlin, Adam Maher (all delisted)

The Warriors’ recruitment of Michael Klinger provides a superb replacement for the recently-retired Marcus North, whose final season was among his most memorable.
Liam Davis, Burt Cockley and Luke Towers have got the squeeze from last season’s contract list, while paceman Michael Hogan's availability as an overseas player under Cricket Australia regulations will be determined over the coming months.

The Warriors’ push for local talent has continued with Mount Lawley’s Tom Beaton and Scarborough medium-fast bowler Andrew Tye earning full contracts, while University and Joondalup teenagers David Moody and Jaron Morgan are included as rookies.

Beaton, 23, returns to WA’s contracted list after consistent performances at First Grade level, finishing the 2013-14 season with the second most runs in club cricket having topped the aggregate runs charts in 2012-13.

Tye, 27, was promoted to the Warriors contract list last season after impressing during the RYOBI Cup where he claimed 13 wickets in five matches and performed well in the Toyota Futures League.

Moody is a right-arm fast medium bowler who played for WA’s Under-19s last December. He turns 19 next week and is the nephew of former WA captain and coach Tom Moody.

Morgan, 18, is an aggressive left-handed batsman who represented Australia at this year’s Under-19 ICC World Cup. He made breakthrough centuries at Futures League and First Grade level during the 2013-14 season.

Cricket Australia Contracts:
Mitchell Johnson (CA)
Shaun Marsh (CA)
Ashton Agar
Cameron Bancroft
Tom Beaton
Michael Beer
Jason Behrendorff
Nathan Coulter-Nile
Ryan Duffield
Marcus Harris
Michael Klinger
Simon Mackin
Mitchell Marsh
Joel Paris
John Rogers
Nathan Rimmington
Ashton Turner
Andrew Tye
Adam Voges (c)
Sam Whiteman
William Bosisto
Hilton Cartwright
Matt Dixon
David Moody
Jaron Morgan
IN: Michael Klinger (South Australia), Tom Beaton, David Moody, Jaron Morgan
OUT: Burt Cockley, Liam Davis, Luke Towers (all delisted), Marcus North (retired), Michael Hogan (availability to be confirmed)