Redbacks announce Matador One-Day Cup squad

01 Oct 2014

I (51)

The West End Redbacks have named a 14-man squad for the 2014 Matador One-Day Cup, with Shaun Tait and Mark Cosgrove returning for their home state.

Tait has been included after training with the wider squad as a non-contracted invitee, following an almost three-year absence from any Redbacks XI.

Cosgrove has spent the last four seasons in Tasmania and returns on the back of a fantastic stint down south.

The squad is bolstered with exciting young talent, including batsmen Jake Lehmann, Alex Ross and Travis Head as well as paceman Nick Winter and spinner Adam Zampa.

14-man squad
Johan Botha (C)
Mark Cosgrove
Tom Cooper
Callum Ferguson
Travis Head
Trent Lawford
Jake Lehmann
Tim Ludeman
Gary Putland
Alex Ross
Chadd Sayers
Shaun Tait
Nick Winter
Adam Zampa

Darren Berry is excited to see what the squad can do when the tournament kicks off this Saturday against New South Wales in Brisbane.

“Cosgrove brings so much class and experience to our group. He has spent a lot of time with our young batsmen and has been such a positive influence on them. It is fantastic to have him back playing for South Australia,” said Berry.

“Taity isn’t a contracted player, but we have been blown away with his commitment. I told him, mate, you come along when you want to come along because you aren’t contracted, but he hasn’t missed a session. He has been a role model for our players and is bowling very fast, so I am delighted to have him back involved.

“Jake Lehmann and Alex Ross have been the standout performers in our lead-in games and have been rewarded. It is great to see young South Australian players putting their hand up and demanding their position in our squad.”

Expectations have risen for the West End Redbacks this season, but Coach Darren Berry has embraced the pressure and admits his expectations are just as high.

“We expect to be up there. There are no guarantees, but we aren’t in it to come third and fourth. We believe we have a squad good enough to go there.”

4 October – NSW v SA (AB Field)
6 October – Vic v SA (GABBA)
8 October – SA v WA (GABBA)
12 October – SA v QLD (AB Field)
15 October – SA v Tas (Bankstown Oval)
17 October – WA v SA (Bankstown Oval)
22 October – Tas v SA (North Sydney Oval)
24 October – Preliminary Final (Drummoyne Oval)
26 October – Grand Final (SCG)