Team of the Year announced as Shield concludes

05 Apr 2018

Sheffield Shield Team of the Year named

Head Web

Travis Head has been named the Captain of the ACA All*Star Sheffield Shield Team of the Year, as voted by the players.

The players were asked to vote on who they believed the most worthy of selection after the competition; with Tasmania (4), Victoria (3), South Australia (3) and Queensland (2) all represented.

Victorian Marcus Harris averaged 41 on his way to a 706-run return, while Joe Burns was selected has his opening partner with 635 runs from just six matches.

Glenn Maxwell managed 707 runs to be selected at number three, with the competition’s leading run scorer Callum Ferguson coming in at number at four.

Fellow South Australian Head was selected at five ahead of Tasmanian pair Jake Doran and Matthew Wade.

Joint Sheffield Shield MVP winners Michael Neser (37 wickets) and Jackson Bird (35 wickets) were both selected; while Sheffield Shield Player of the Year and leading wicket taker Chris Tremain was picked after his extraordinary 51 wicket campaign.

Nick Winter was rewarded for a dominant five games with the Duke Ball,  selected after taking 34 wickets at 19.

Young Tasmanian Tom Rogers capped off a remarkable first year, rounding out the team after finishing third in the Captain’s MVP award.


The ACA All*Star Sheffield Shield Team of the Year

Marcus Harris (VIC)

Joe Burns  (QLD)

Glenn Maxwell  (VIC)

Callum Ferguson (SA)

Travis Head (C) (SA)

Jake Doran  (TAS)

Matthew Wade  (TAS)

Michael Neser  (QLD)

Chris Tremain  (VIC)

Jackson Bird  (TAS)

Nick Winter  (SA)

12th – Tom Rogers (TAS) 


Sheffield Shield Final


The announcement of the Sheffield Shield Team of the Year follows Queensland outlasting Tasmania in the Sheffield Shield Final in Brisbane last week.

The rain affected match saw Tasmania amass an impressive 477 in the opening innings, only to see Queensland take a first innings lead on Day 4. Tasmania attempted to setup an unlikely win on the final day declaring at 1-166, but a further rain delay and quality Queensland batting allowed the Bulls to take home their first title since 2013.

Despite first innings high totals, Matthew Wade was the only player to reach triple figures, and was duly awarded Player of the Match in a losing side.

Prior to the match players from past and present confirmed the desire of the players to continue playing the Shield final, describing it as the closest thing to Test cricket.

You can watch the video here.


Sheffield Shield MVP

Captains MVP_article

Earlier this month Jackson Bird & Michael Neser tied to win the inaugural Sheffield Shield Captains' MVP Award.

Both players polled 37 votes across the 2017-18 Shield season. Each captain voted 5,4,3,2,1 after each Shield game on the players they deemed most valuable in that match.

Queensland and Tasmania players featured heavily on the MVP leaderboard, with two from each state in the top five, as both teams prepared to square off in the Sheffield Shield Final.

Bird claimed 37 wickets at an average of 20.22, polling in five of the seven games he played. His form was also rewarded with a call up to the Australian team, playing in the Boxing Day test against England.

Neser continued his good form from the last few seasons, taking 37 wickets from nine games and averaging 19.70. The swing-bowler and handy lower order batsman was also a part of the Adelaide Strikers BBL07 winning campaign.

Victoria's Chris Tremain and Tasmania's Tom Rogers followed four votes adrift of first place with 33 votes apiece.

Tremain took a competition-high 51 wickets at 21.07, while Rogers impressed with 35 wickets at 17.31.

Queensland batsman Matthew Renshaw rounded out the top five. The 21-year-old accumulated all of his votes after Christmas, tallying 686 runs over the season with three centuries. 

ACA General Manager Cricket Operations Brendan Drew congratulated both Bird and Neser.

"The Sheffield Shield competition is the strongest first class competition in the world. Jackson and Michael should be really proud to be recognised as the two most valuable players in this competition by the captains from around the country."

"To win games of first-class cricket, teams need to be able to take 20 wickets, Jackson and Michael have been consistent wicket takers throughout the season."


Leaderboard Votes
Bird 37
Neser 37
Rogers 33
Tremain 33
Renshaw 30
Labuschagne 27
Winter 26
Doran  26
Burns 25
Feldman 23

The Award

  • Each captain voted 5,4,3,2,1 after each Shield game on the players they deemed most valuable in that match.
  • Captains were ineligible to vote for themselves, or the opposition Captain.