Smith, Lanning and Hazlewood acknowledged for ICC Awards

I (6)

Australian Cricketers Association (ACA) CEO Alistair Nicholson has paid tribute to Steve Smith, Meg Lanning and Josh Hazlewood after the three capped off an outstanding year with ICC Awards.

Smith received the coveted Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Cricketer of the Year 2015 as well as the ICC Test Cricketer of the Year.

Lanning has been named as the ICC Women’s ODI Cricketer of the Year and Hazlewood has won the ICC Emerging Cricketer of the Year award.

On the feats of Smith, Nicholson said “Steve has been a fantastic player for the Australian team for a number of years and his transition to the captaincy has clearly been a role that he has embraced. To be acknowledged as the best player in the world is something the I know he will be incredibly proud of and that the ACA congratulate him on.”

Nicholson also congratulated Lanning and Hazlewood on their individual and team performances throughout 2015.

“Captaining the Southern Stars to the first Ashes win in England since 2001 was a great achievement, and now this award highlights Meg’s ability to consistently perform at the highest level in all forms of the game.

“And Josh has taken his opportunity to cement himself in the Australian bowling line-up when competition for spots was at its fiercest. With great results at the Cricket World Cup and in the nine tests matches he played during this period, he certainly belongs on the front line of our attack.”

“Both Meg (23 years old) and Josh (24) represent a very bright future of the game in Australia.”

The full list of ICC Award 2015 winners is:

ICC Cricketer of the Year (Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy) - Steve Smith (Australia)
ICC Test Cricketer of the Year – Steve Smith (Australia)
ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year – AB de Villiers (South Africa)
ICC Women’s ODI Cricketer of the Year – Meg Lanning (Australia)
ICC Women’s T20I Cricketer of the Year – Stafanie Taylor (West Indies)
ICC T20I Performance of the Year – Faf du Plessis (South Africa) (119, 56 balls, 11x4, 5x6 – 2nd T20I vs West Indies, 11 January 2015, Johannesburg)
ICC Emerging Cricketer of the Year – Josh Hazlewood (Australia)
ICC Associate/Affiliate Cricketer of the Year – Khurram Khan (UAE)
ICC Spirit of Cricket Award – Brendon McCullum (New Zealand)
ICC Umpire of the Year (David Shepherd Trophy) – Richard Kettleborough