Southern Stars contracts for 2014/15 announced

07 May 2014


Cricket Australia (CA) today announced the 15 women’s players who will be offered CA contracts for 2014-15, as chosen by the Women’s National Selection Panel (WNSP).

The upcoming international schedule includes home series against Pakistan and the West Indies, each of which will comprise One Day International (ODI) and T20 matches.

The contracts, which cover a 12-month period commencing 1 July 2014, will be offered to the following players:

CA Contract List for 2014-2015

Alex Blackwell (NSW) 30
Nicole Bolton (WA) 25
Jess Cameron (VIC) 24
Sarah Coyte (NSW) 23
Rene Farrell (ACT) 27
Holly Ferling (QLD) 18
Jodie Fields (QLD) 29
Alyssa Healy (NSW) 24
Julie Hunter (VIC) 30
Jess Jonassen (QLD) 21
Meg Lanning (VIC) 22
Erin Osborne (NSW) 24
Ellyse Perry (NSW) 23
Megan Schutt (SA) 21
Elyse Villani (VIC) 24

Commenting on the contract list, WNSP Chair Julie Savage said: “It is anticipated that these players will form the basis of our teams for the home series against Pakistan and the West Indies later this year.

“All of the 15 players currently hold a CA playing contract, with Nicole Bolton and Rene Farrell having received contract upgrades during the previous period. Farrell played an integral part in both the home Commonwealth Bank Women’s Ashes Series and the 2014 ICC Women’s World T20 victory, while Bolton made a memorable century on debut in an ODI at the MCG during the Women’s Ashes.

“Rachael Haynes has been omitted from the contract list following a period where her performances with the bat have not reached the heights that she is capable of. As she is a very determined and talented cricketer, we are confident we will see more of her on the international stage in future,” Savage said.

Following last year’s restructuring of the contracting system for women’s international and state cricketers, the Commonwealth Bank Southern Stars are some of the best paid female athletes in the country. In 2014-15, the top player retainer is $54,600 and the minimum CA retainer is $25,850. In addition, players also receive $250 per day when touring both in Australia and abroad as well as a daily living allowance.

The State and Territory Association contracting period will be open from 8 May – 13 June.

The WNSP has also chosen 14 players for the Commonwealth Bank Shooting Stars contract list for 2014-15. The Commonwealth Bank Shooting Stars is a development squad aimed to complement the Commonwealth Bank Southern Stars squad and provide elite training and playing opportunities.

Shooting Stars Contract List

Jemma Barsby (QLD) 18
Samantha Bates (ACT) 21
Kristen Beams (VIC) 29
Nicola Carey (NSW) 20
Rhiannon Dick (ACT) 23
Katelyn Fryett (TAS) 21
Grace Harris (QLD) 20
Delissa Kimmince (QLD) 24
Beth Mooney (QLD) 20
Bridget Patterson (SA) 19
Chloe Piparo (WA) 19
Angela Reakes (NSW) 23
Molly Strano (VIC) 21
Kara Sutherland (NSW) 22

Commenting on the contract list WNSP Chair Julie Savage said: “During the last few seasons the concentration of major ICC tournaments has meant that the Commonwealth Bank Shooting Stars program has primarily focused on preparing the next tier of players for these events. As there are no major ICC tournaments on the international calendar this season, the emphasis of the program has switched to focus on developing young players.

The intention of the program in the upcoming season is to provide an accelerated learning environment for the best young talent in the country who have the potential to progress to the Commonwealth Bank Southern Stars in the next 2-4 years. The WNSP has also included a few senior players who may advance to the Commonwealth Bank Southern Stars squad within a shorter timeframe.”