Southern Stars win third successive WT20

07 Apr 2014


The Commonwealth Bank Southern Stars have won their third successive ICC Women’s World Twenty20 title after a six-wicket win over England in Dhaka.

England were sent in to bat first and reached 8-105 from their 20 overs, which the Australian side chased down in the 16th over, finishing 4-106. Sarah Coyte’s figures of 3-16 earned her the player-of-the-final award.

Batting first England steadily lost wickets throughout their innings. Heather Knight (29) and Sarah Taylor (18) were the leading run-scorers but once Knight was dismissed in the 13th over they failed to put together any solid partnerships. Coyte lead the Australian wicket-takers with 3-16, while Ellyse Perry (2-13) and Rene Farrell (2-27) picked up two wickets each.

For the Australian side, Meg Lanning (44) and Ellyse Perry (31*) anchored the innings as they found the boundary with ease on numerous occasions. The Commonwealth Bank Southern Stars reached their set target of 106 early in the 16th over.