Squads for the VB Tour of United Arab Emirates named

08 Sep 2014


Cricket Australia's National Selection Panel has today announced the following squads for the upcoming VB Tour of the United Arab Emirates (UAE).

Test squad

Michael Clarke - Captain NSW
Alex Doolan TAS
Phil Hughes SA
Brad Haddin NSW
Nathan Lyon NSW
Mitchell Marsh WA
Glenn Maxwell VIC
Steve O'Keefe NSW
Mitchell Johnson WA
Chris Rogers VIC
Peter Siddle VIC
Steve Smith NSW
Mitchell Starc NSW
David Warner NSW
Shane Watson NSW

ODI squad

Michael Clarke - Captain NSW
Sean Abbott NSW
George Bailey TAS
James Faulkner TAS
Aaron Finch VIC
Brad Haddin NSW
Nathan Lyon NSW
Mitchell Marsh WA
Glenn Maxwell VIC
Mitchell Johnson WA
Steve Smith NSW
Mitchell Starc NSW
David Warner NSW
Shane Watson NSW

T20 squad

Aaron Finch - Captain VIC
Sean Abbott NSW
Cameron Boyce QLD
Pat Cummins NSW
James Faulkner TAS
Brad Haddin NSW
Mitchell Marsh WA
Glenn Maxwell VIC
Kane Richardson SA
Steve Smith NSW
Mitchell Starc NSW
David Warner NSW
Shane Watson NSW

Commenting on the chosen touring party, National Selector Rod Marsh said: "This series against Pakistan is highly important for Australian cricket, presenting a chance to reclaim the number one Test ranking. It also forms an important part of our preparation for the ICC Cricket World Cup as well as the opportunity to claim valuable points in the fight for the number one ODI ranking.

"Picking a three format touring party comes with its challenges. Each squad has been selected taking into account the conditions expected in the UAE and also with an eye on the World Cup and the ICC World Twenty20 in 2016."


Test Squad

New South Wales left-arm orthodox spinner Steve O'Keefe and West Australian Mitchell Marsh have both been selected in the Test squad for the first time.

Commenting on these inclusions, the National Selector said: "We have picked Steve O'Keefe as the extra spinner for the Test tour. We are unsure what pitch conditions we will encounter in the UAE but we need to be prepared to play two spinners. Steve was the highest wicket-taker in the Bupa Sheffield Shield last season and we are confident he can perform at the next level.

"Mitch Marsh is a player of immense talent and is a bright prospect for the future of Australian cricket. His form with Australia A has been fantastic and he carried that through to the recent Zimbabwe tour. If he gets his opportunity, we know he will make the most of it."

Marsh also commented on the inclusion of Victorian all-rounder Glenn Maxwell and South Australian batsman Phil Hughes.

"Glenn is a talented all-rounder who enjoys playing on dry pitches. Phil has been in excellent form and has been rewarded with a place in the Test squad. His attitude to his game has been first rate and he thoroughly deserves this opportunity."

Hughes will travel to the UAE earlier than the remainder of his Test teammates to spend time working on his batting against spin with coaching, consultant Muthiah Muralidaran.


One-Day International Squad

Marsh said this series against Pakistan will give players a chance to stake their claim for selection in Australia's ICC Cricket World Cup squad.

Earning national representation for the first time is New South Wales paceman Sean Abbott.

Marsh commented: "Sean is a bright young cricketer and gets his opportunity in the short form matches. He has shown great improvement in all forms of the game with New South Wales and was the highest wicket taker in last season's RYOBI one-day cup. His recent performances in Darwin with the National Performance Squad were also outstanding."

Twenty20 International Squad

Marsh also announced that New South Wales quick Pat Cummins will make his return to international cricket as part of the T20 squad. Cummins last represented Australia in October 2012, before suffering a back injury.

"Pat has worked incredibly hard to come back from injury. We would love to see him perform well in the UAE and put his hand up for further opportunities this summer. We see Pat as a long-term prospect for Australian cricket and it is exciting to see him back playing again."

Queensland leg-spinner Cameron Boyce also gains national selection for the first time in the T20 squad.

"Cameron impressed recently in the Australia A Series and will get his chance to represent Australia in a one-off T20 International. He had a terrific KFC Big Bash League last summer and he will gain great experience playing for Hobart Hurricanes in India during the Champions League."

Due to the condensed nature of the schedule, should any Australian player be required for the Champions League Final they will be deemed unavailable for the T20 International against Pakistan on October 5.

The National Selection Panel consists of Rod Marsh, Trevor Hohns, Darren Lehmann and Mark Waugh.