Three new faces in QLD Matador Cup squad

03 Oct 2014

I (60)

The Queensland Bulls have named three first-time selections in their squad for the opening rounds of the Matador One Day Cup starting in Brisbane this weekend.

Former South Australian fast bowler Peter George, Brisbane Heat paceman Mark Steketee and Redlands allrounder Simon Milenko were the new faces named today in a 13-man squad to prepare for the opening matches against the Victorian Bushrangers at the Gabba on Saturday.

Queensland Bulls squad v Victoria
James Hopes (c)
Joe Burns
Ben Cutting
Luke Feldman
Peter Forrest
Jason Floros
Peter George
Chris Hartley
Usman Khawaja
Simon Milenko
Michael Neser
Nathan Reardon
Mark Steketee
(one to be omitted, 12th man to be named)

George, who earned a baggy green when he represented Australia in a a Test against India in 2010, played in Queensland’s big win over Ireland on Tuesday, taking 1-9 from five overs as the visitors were humbled for 92 in response to Queensland’s 6-322.

Steketee is a former Australian U-19 pace bowler originally from Warwick. He played for the Brisbane Heat last season in the KFC T20 Big Bash League where he took six wickets at 18.83.

Milenko, originally from Lismore, was a regular first grader with the Gold Coast Dolphins before switching to Redlands last year where he dominated on the way to claiming the Peter Burge Medal as the best premier grade player.

The 25-year-old allrounder has previously represented at Futures League 2nd XI level with the Queensland Academy of Sport.

A right-handed middle order batsman and right-arm medium–fast bowler, Milenko scored 790 runs and took 40 wickets for the Tigers on the way to registering the club’s first Burge Medal win and the highest winning points tally since 2010.

Admission for the Matador One Day Cup matches in Queensland is $10 for adults and $5 for children/concession.

In total there will be nine games played in Brisbane, with the Bulls to feature in four.

The tournament then heads to Sydney for the final rounds and finals.

Queensland Bulls Matador Cup Fixture
4 October – QLD v VIC (Brisbane Cricket Ground)
6 October – QLD v NSW (AB Field)
10 October – QLD v NSW (Brisbane Cricket Ground)
12 October – QLD v SA (AB Field)
14 October – QLD v VIC (North Sydney Oval)
18 October – QLD v TAS (North Sydney Oval)
22 October – QLD v WA (Bankstown Oval)
24 October – Preliminary Final (Drummoyne Oval)
26 October – Grand Final (SCG)