Travis Head wins Sheffield Shield Player of the Year

I (282)

Travis Head wins Sheffield Shield Player of the Year

Travis Head’s aggressive batting and impressive leadership has seen him named Sheffield Shield Player of the Year.

Thirteen months after being appointed South Australia’s youngest captain at just 21, the dynamic left hander has led the Redbacks to their first Sheffield Shield Final in 20 years. Head’s 699 runs at 38.83 including three centuries, helped to ensure South Australia will host the final, beginning on Saturday against Victoria at Gliderol Stadium.

Head’s 2015/16 Shield season:
Matches 10 | Runs 699 | 100s: 3 | 50s:1 | Ave: 38.83 | HS 192

Shield Player of the Year top 4 polling:
Travis Head (SA) 16, Ben Dunk (TAS) 14, Matthew Renshaw (QLD) 14, Scott Boland (VIC) 14

Benaud Spirit of Cricket Awards

  • Women’s winners – South Australia – Captain Lauren Ebsary
  • Men’s winners – Tasmania – Captain George Bailey

The Benaud Spirit of Cricket Awards are decided by umpire votes and recognise State cricket teams which have best played in the spirit of the game in recognition that elite cricket should be played hard but fair.

The Breezair South Australian Scorpions and Tasmanian Tigers were deemed to have played their seasons in the best spirit and with the greatest respect for the game.

The Scorpions broke the strangle-hold of the NSW Lendlease Breakers by claiming their first Women’s National Cricket League title on the back of an exciting century from English import Sarah Taylor.

The Tigers had a disappointing season on the field but along with the Benaud Spirit of Cricket award they can claim the leading run-scorer in the Sheffield Shield, Ben Dunk, who made 838 runs at 46.56 with four centuries.

Toyota Futures League Player of the Year

NSW Blues top order batsman Nick Larkin has won the Toyota Futures League Player of the Year. Larkin was the leading run scorer in the competition with 697 runs at 77.44 in six matches, which included three centuries.

Cricket Australia Umpire Award

Simon Fry has been named Cricket Australia Umpire of the Year for a third successive season.

The South Australian’s high standards and leadership qualities have been recognised by the International Cricket Council, which appointed Fry for his first Test, between Sri Lanka and West Indies in Colombo.

He was also appointed by the ICC to the World T20 currently taking place in India.
This comes after standing in last season’s Sheffield Shield Final.

Lord’s Taverners Indigenous Cricketer of the Year

Brendan Doggett has been named Lord’s Taverners Indigenous Cricketer of the Year
The right arm fast bowler from Toowoomba was the Brisbane Heat’s community rookie last season.

Doggett was also a member of Queensland’s Futures League team, claiming eight wickets at average of 23.13.

He also took 42 wickets at average of 13 in Queensland grade cricket for Western Suburbs.

Doggett was part of the National Indigenous Squad that played the National Performance Squad during a tour of the Bupa National Cricket Centre last May, claiming five wickets.