Wade, Neser enter Australia A squad

04 Aug 2014


There have been four player changes to the Australia A squad for their two four-day matches against South Africa A in Townsville, starting on 7 August.

Due to their selections for the Zimbabwe tour, James Faulkner and Ben Cutting have been replaced by Matthew Wade and Michael Neser. Wade comes into the side as a batsman only, with Peter Nevill retaining the gloves for the Townsville matches.

Josh Hazlewood (side strain) and Chris Lynn (rotator cuff left shoulder) who were both ruled out part way through the Quadrangular Series due to injury will not return to the squad, with their replacements in Darwin Gurinder Sandhu and Marcus Stoinis remaining with the squad for Townsville.

Queensland spinner Cameron Boyce, who has been a part of the Australia A squad for their two four-day matches against India A in Brisbane as well as the Quadrangular Series, will also remain with the squad as an additional player.

The NSP has selected Moises Henriques to takeover captaincy of the side.

The Australia A squad for Townsville is:
Moises Henriques (NSW) - captain
Jason Berendhorff (WA)
Cameron Boyce (QLD)
Tom Cooper (SA)
Callum Ferguson (SA)
Peter Forrest (QLD)
Phillip Hughes (SA)
Michael Neser (QLD)
Peter Nevill (NSW)
Steve O’Keefe (NSW)
Gurinder Sandhu (NSW)
Chadd Sayers (SA)
Marcus Stoinis (VIC)
Matthew Wade (VIC)