Growth in WBBL a “true career highlight:”: Perry


The players have voted for the 2018-19 WBBL ACA All*Star Team of the Year.

Sophie Molineux, Marizanne Kapp and Suzie Bates all retain their spots in the team from last season, while Elyse Villani earns her third consecutive selection, and Ellyse Perry her fourth; the only player to have been named in every WBBL ACA All*Star Team of the Year.

Perry has had a standout season as captain of the Sydney Sixers, tallying 744 runs, the highest-ever scored in a single WBBL season.

“It’s always an honour to be included in a player-voted team,” Perry said.

“WBBL 04 has been incredibly enjoyable, and it continues to go from strength-to-strength each year. To have had the opportunity to experience the growth of this competition has been a true career highlight.”          

The team of 12 includes five players from Australia’s winning World T20 squad; Alyssa Healy, Ellyse Perry, Elyse Villani, Sophie Molineux and captain Meg Lanning. 

Lanning, who returned to the team for a third time after missing last year’s tournament due to injury, said:

“I am pleased to be named alongside such great representatives of the women’s game.”

Five players chosen in the ACA All*Star Team of the Year will also feature in tomorrow’s WBBL Final between the Sydney Sixers and Brisbane Heat at Drummoyne Oval, Sydney.

Brisbane Heat’s Sammy-Jo Johnson, who has been selected into the team for the first time, said:

“Some of the players in this team are among the best players in the world, so it is a huge honour to be named alongside them.”

“Being voted in by my peers is an achievement I am extremely proud of.”

Heading into tomorrow’s final, Johnson said:

“We have played some really nice cricket over the last two months, which was topped off by an awesome win in the semi-final.

“But the Sydney Sixers are going to be really tough opposition tomorrow. They have been the benchmark throughout the first three years of the competition.” 

Sydney Sixers captain Perry added:

“It has been a big four months of cricket, and it would be great to top it off with a third WBBL title on Saturday, but we’ve got an incredible challenge ahead of us in the Brisbane Heat, who have had a great season.”

Other players in the 2018-19 WBBL ACA All*Star team include the WBBL’s second highest-ever wicket-taker Molly Strano (72 wickets) who received the players’ vote for a third season, alongside New Zealand international Sophie Devine, earning her second inclusion.

Heather Graham’s 22 wickets, the most in the competition this season, saw her elected into the team for the first time, alongside Grace Harris who blasted the fastest-ever WBBL century, finishing with 101* from 42 balls.

Each player was given the opportunity to elect on who they felt had the biggest impact in the fourth instalment of the WBBL competition.

2018-19 WBBL ACA All*Star Team of the Year

Sophie Devine (AS) - 556 runs @ 46.33; 14 wickets @ 21.71, RPO 8.85

Alyssa Healy (SS) - 426 runs @ 35.5; 10 catches, 5 stumpings

Ellyse Perry (SS) - 690 runs @ 86.25; 9 wickets @ 25.56, RPO 7.38

Elyse Villani (PS) - 403 runs @ 44.78

Meg Lanning (PS) - 389 runs @ 48.63

Grace Harris (BH) - 356 runs @ 27.38; 12 wickets @ 19.33, RPO 5.95

Sophie Molineux  (MR) - 299 runs @ 27.18; 15 wickets @ 20.73, RPO 6.91

Sammy-Jo Johnson (BH) - 18 wickets @18.06, RPO 6.46; 223 runs @ 17.15

Heather Graham (PS) - 22 wickets @ 16.95, RPO 7.36; 161 runs @ 16.1

Marizanne Kapp (SS) - 18 wickets @ 17.22, RPO 5.85

Molly Strano (MR) - 19 wickets @ 16, RPO 6.36

12th - Suzie Bates (AS) - 421 runs @ 35.08