WNCL All*Star Team of the Year

01 Mar 2018

WNCL Team _article

The 2017-18 ACA player voted All*Star WNCL Team of the Year has been announced, lead by Australian vice-captain and NSW batter Rachael Haynes.

After leading Australia to victory in the Ashes, Haynes had an outstanding WNCL campaign, making 358 runs at 119.33.

Haynes was also voted as the WNCL Captains' MVP for 2017-18.

“It was pretty exciting to receive the news (about the Captains MVP Award),” Haynes said.

“To be nominated for an award by your peers is fantastic, but to be nominated by the leaders of our game, including the opposition Captains, is a huge honour.”

New South Wales dominates selection this season with six representatives, with Western Australia (3), Victoria (2) and South Australia (1) rounding out the rest of the squad.

The recently retired Alex Blackwell earned selection in the team once again, the only player to be named from 2016-17 squad.

Two internationals also feature with New Zealand’s Sophie Devine (South Australia) and England’s Kate Cross (Western Australia).

New South Wales pace bowler Nicola Carey and Victorian all-rounder Sophie Molineux were both rewarded for their fantastic seasons, selected for Australia’s tour of India on top of earning a spot in in the team. 

The pair are the only two named who have not yet played at international level.

Elyse Villani, Ellyse Perry, Rene Farrell, Haynes and Devine were also selected in the ACA player-voted WBBL Team of the Year. 

ACA Manager Cricket Operations Kath Koschel congratulated all those picked in the side.

"The ACA WNCL Team of the Year is a benchmark for all of the players to aim for.

"To be selected by your peers is the highest honour and each selected player should be extremely proud of themselves for this achievement.

"The WNCL competition provides the playing group with the opportunity to grow and develop their game each year and the Ruth Preddey trophy remains the pinnacle of Australian Women’s Cricket

2017-18 WNCL All*Star Team of the Year

  1. Nicole Bolton – 266 runs @ 66.50 (Western Australia)
  2. Elyse Villani – 288 runs @ 48.00 (Western Australia)
  3. Rachael Haynes © - 358 runs @ 119.33 (New South Wales)
  4. Sophie Devine – 342 runs @ 57.00, 4 wickets @ 32.75 (South Australia)
  5. Ellyse Perry – 276 runs @ 69.00, 7 wickets @ 23.57 New South Wales)
  6. Alex Blackwell - 257 Runs @ 42.83 (New South Wales)
  7. Alyssa Healy - 220 Runs @ 36.67, 6 catches 2 stumpings (New South Wales)
  8. Nicola Carey - 10 Wkts @ 18.60 (New South Wales)
  9. Kate Cross - 11 Wkts @ 19.18 (Western Australia)
  10. Kristen Beams - 11 Wkts @ 14.00 (Victoria)
  11. Rene Farrell - 14 Wkts @ 14.64 (New South Wales)
  12. Sophie Molineux - 170 runs @ 28.33, 8 Wkts @ 21.63 (Victoria)