Membership Update

04 Sep 2014


Rob Bartlett takes out ACA Choice Hotels Footy Tipping Competition

With another minor round season of AFL complete so too is the ACA Choice Hotels Footy Tipping Competition. Over the course of the season this was one of the closest tipping contests we have seen, with as many as 20 a realistic chance to take out the title of ACA top tipster heading into the final round.

Over the course of the season tipsters were playing for some fantastic prizes from competition sponsor and long time supporter of the ACA, Choice Hotels.

  • 1st Prize - $500 Choice Hotel Voucher
  • 2nd Prize - $300 Choice Hotel Voucher
  • 3rd Prize - $200 Choice Hotel Voucher

In the end Rob Bartlett was the one to come out on top just pipping David Ritossa in second place, while Meg Lanning finished in third place.

  • Rob Bartlet - 151 (612)
  • David Ritossa - 150 (750)
  • Meg Lanning - 149 (622)

Thank you to all those Members who supported the ACA Footy Tipping Competition again this year. Be sure to keep an eye out for any future communication as to how you can join the 2015 competition for your chance to get your hands on some fantastic prizes and more importantly claim bragging rights at the end.


Top 5 Sporting Moments

Last month we asked ACA members to tell us their Top 5 Sports Moments of all time.

Well, the results are in and whilst there was support for some of our current members in Steve Waugh (v England, January 2003, 100 in a session), Matthew Hayden (380 v Zimbabwe, 2003) and the Second Ashes Test, Adelaide, December 2006 in the end the votes went to:

• 1983 - Australia wins the America's Cup
• 1996 - Kieren Perkins 1500m Gold at the Atlanta Olympics
• 2013 - Adam Scott US Masters win
• 2011 - Cadel Evans Tour de France triumph
• 2000 - Cathy Freeman 400m Gold at the Sydney Olympics 

NSW (1)

ACA Members awarded Life Membership

Congratulations to ACA Members Julie Savage, Dave Gilbert and Marshall Rosen, who were honoured with Life Membership of their respective State Associations recently.

Julie was one of 12 people awarded Cricket Victoria Life Membership at their Annual General Meeting last week.

The current Chair of the Women's National Selection Panel, Julie has been at the forefront of the Victorian Women's Cricket Association for many years. Joining the VWCA Board in 1990, she made her Victorian playing debut the same year, somehow combining her Board role with a state career from 1990 to 1999, which included the captaincy in 1998-99.

In her 23-year involvement in women's cricket, Julie has filled positions such as President, Vice-President and Selector - and played a vital role in seeing through the integration process with Cricket Victoria.

Former Australian and New South Wales paceman Dave Gilbert and former NSW player Marshall Rosen were awarded Life Membership at the recent Cricket NSW AGM.

Dave made a substantial contribution to NSW Cricket as both a player and an administrator, having been CEO of the organisation for 11 years.

He played 43 first-class matches for NSW between 1983 and 1988, taking 113 wickets at 33.27 with best figures of 5-56.

He won selection for Australia in 1985, becoming Test cap No. 330 and One Day International cap No. 88. David played 9 Test matches in all, taking 16 wickets, and 14 One Day Internationals, taking 18 wickets.

Dave also represented Gloucestershire and Tasmania, taking 354 first-class wickets, with best figures of 8-55.

As Chief Executive, he oversaw a period of great growth with revenue tripling and participation growing by 130%. The Blues also won 3 Sheffield Shield and 3 One Day Domestic titles during this period, while the Breakers won 10 titles.

Marshall Rosen's contribution to NSW Cricket as a player and administrator spans 50 years.

He represented New South Wales as a player between 1971 and 1976. He was an opening batsman, playing 21 First Class matches and scoring 1220 runs at an average of 30.50, in addition to five One Day matches. Marshall was also a State Selector for a decade from 2002.

Marshall has served as delegate for the Gordon District Cricket Club to both the SCA and NSWCA since 1999 and is about to enter his ninth year as a Director of the Cricket NSW Board.

Do you know of any other ACA Members who've received awards of note? Drop me a line at .